life

Reading Recommendations From @naval

A list from @naval talks/podcasts and tweets.
It’s mainly for my personal usage when I’m buy new books (or ordering some from the library).

  • Poor Charlie’s Almanac: The Wit and Wisdom of Charles T. Munger. This one is the biggest book (for real) you will have in your library. Find a special and strong shelf for it.
  • Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind by Yuval Noah Harari. I wrote about here in the past.
  • The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle (@EckhartTolle)
  • The Sovereign Individual: Mastering the Transition to the Information Age by James Dale Davidson
  • Incerto Series by Nassim Nicholas Taleb (@nntaleb): All 5 books are great but not an easy read. I had to re-read some parts in the books again and again and I’m still not sure I got to the bottom of the idea(s).
  • Jed McKenna’s books.
  • Kapil Gupta’s (@KapilGuptaMD) books
  • Anthony De Mello’s Books
  • Matt Ridley (@mattwridley)

Richard Feynman (@ProfFeynman)

  • Six Easy Pieces: Essentials of Physics
  • Perfectly Reasonable Deviations
  • “What Do You Care What Other People Think?”
  • Surely You Must Be Joking Mr. Feynman
  • The Feynman Lectures on Physics

Kamal Ravikant (@kamalravikant)

  • Love Yourself Like Your Life Depends On It
  • Live Your Truth

Carlo Rovelli (@carlorovelli)

  • Reality Is Not What It Seems
  • Seven Brief Lessons on Physics
  • The Order of Time

David Deutsch (@DavidDeutschOxf)

  • The Beginning of Infinity: Explanations That Transform the World
  • The Fabric of Reality

Douglas Adams (@douglasadams):

  • The Salmon of Doubt
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

 Other Books

  • Wind, Sand & Stars by Antoine De Saint Exupery
  • How to Change Your Mind: What the New Science of Psychedelics Teaches Us About Consciousness, Dying, Addiction, Depression, and Transcendence by Michael Pollan (@michaelpollan)
  • The Book of Five Rings: The Classic Guide to Strategy by Miyamoto Musashi
  • Good Calories, Bad Calories: Fats, Carbs, and the Controversial Science of Diet and Health by Gary Taubes (@garytaubes)
  • The Law by Bastiat
  • Ashtavakra Gita – Bart Marshall Translation
  • I Am That by Nisargadatta Maharaj
  • Raja Yoga by Vivekananda
  • The Way to Wealth by Ben Franklin
  • Striking Thoughts: Bruce Lee’s Wisdom for Daily Living by Bruce Lee
  • Meditations by Marcus Aurelius (@lawsofaurelius – Aurelius Quotes Profile)
  • Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu
  • Genius: The Life & Science of Richard Feynman by James Gleick
  • The Tao of Philosophy by Alan Watts
  • The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin
  • Tools of Titans: The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers by Tim Ferriss (@tferriss)
  • The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind by Julian Jaynes
  • Math, Better Explained: Learn to Unlock Your Math Intuition by Kalid Azad (@betterexplained)
  • The Gay Science by Friedrich Nietzsche (@PureNietzsche – Nietzsche Quotes Profile)
  • What Is Life?: Mind & Matter by Erwin Schrödinger
  • Infinite Powers: How Calculus Reveals the Secrets of the Universe by Steven Strogatz (@stevenstrogatz)
  • Vasistha’s Yoga by Swami Venkatesananda
  • Science & Method by Henri Poincare
  • The Three-Body Problem by Liu Cixin
  • The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith
  • The Evolution of Cooperation by Robert Axelrod
  • A Pattern Language by Christopher Alexander
  • Economics in One Lesson by Hazlett
  • Gödel, Escher, Bach by Douglas R. Hofstadter

Science Fiction

  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
  • Neal Stephenson (@nealstephenson) – i) Snow Crash, ii) The Diamond Age & iii) Fall by Neal Stephenson
  • Roger Zelazny – i) The Chronicles of Amber & ii) Lord of Light
  • Permutation City by Greg Egan (@gregeganSF)
  • Ted Chiang – i) Stories of Your Life and Others & ii) Exhalation

🏆 Be strong and read something good!


For more: https://nav.al/

Standard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s